Skip to main content

Two Playboy Fiction Reviews: Stories from Walter Kirn and Jon Raymond

Image result for Walter Kirn
Walter Kirn
From the Jan/Feb 2017 issue of Playboy...

I can dimly remember having heard of Walter Kirn somewhere in my literary dabbles. Upon a quick closer look, he's the author behind the films Up in the Air (2009) and Thumbsucker (2005). I haven't seen either film, but I know of their existence, and I therefore realize this guy must be, in the words of Ron Burgundy "kind of a big deal." He's also married to Maggie McGuane, daughter of one of my favorite writers, Thomas McGuane. Not that that scores him any points in my heart.

His story in this month's Playboy, called "Finishing," is about a teenager who works at an ice cream shop and is having his job gradually replaced by a dexterous, ice-cream serving robot named "Lenny." One of the few things that keeps Tyson Millner from being completely replaced by Lenny the robot is that Lenny cannot seem to put the cherry on top of the ice cream sundaes properly. This becomes a hilarious tongue-in-cheek metaphor when Tyson starts hooking up with his boss, a much older woman named Carol.

This is a rare and unique story, in my opinion. What makes it rare and unique is it's "completeness," the way Tyson faces conflict and changes in response to it in a realistic way, and the way the ending ties the whole theme of the story together without seeming like it's been forced. Furthermore, Kirn manages to take a somewhat unlikely circumstance and put a real, 3-D character into it, and makes him actually do something interesting: seduce his boss so that she maybe finds a reason to keep him on instead of the robot. Kirn's glimpse into the mind of an 18 year old boy also seems deft and thoughtful, as he periodically has Tyson think back to his formative time at an Outward Bound type program called Youth Horizons. Makes me want to read more of Kirn's stuff.

Freebird: A Novel by [Raymond, Jon]Jon Raymond's story, "Visiting Violence," is actually an excerpt from his upcoming novel Freebird, which should be out by now, actually. This story is about a Navy SEAL who returns back to civilian life in the U.S. after 24 years of combat and encounters what he calls the "potato people" -- soft, flabby Americans unused to hardship and with no awareness of the horrors that men must face in order to keep them safe and comfortable.

Very interesting and engaging perspective from the main character and I enjoyed looking at cushy American life through his combat-weathered lens. I can't help but question whether it's worth reading a whole novel's worth of this, however; the synopsis on Amazon.com makes this sound like a sprawling novel of contemporary family dysfunction, somewhat in the vein of Phillip Roth's American Pastoral or Jonathan Franzen's The Corrections. I think this is worth a closer look, if not at least a bookstore aisle flip-through.

(**Note: I just learned Jon Raymond has a novel called Night Moves, presumably named after the Bob Seger song. This guy officially gets the full endorsement of TGCB.)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

New Yorker Fiction Review #146: "Three Short Moments in a Long Life" by John L'Heureux

Issue: May 9, 2016

Story: "Three Short Moments in a Long Life" by John L'Heureux

Rating: $

Review: I feel like this is a somewhat tired technique, straight out of Creative Writing 101: write a story consisting of three or four different snapshots or snippets out of a character's life at different ages, sort of like a series of written photographs. Fun perhaps, but strikes me as a bit amateurish. However, I also think L'Heureux succeeds here by pushing it a bit further, playing with the character's tentative attempts at something close to faith -- in childish, adult, and mature adult ways -- and tying all three "Short Moments" together in a subtle and readily decipherable way.

L'Heureux's prose and his frank humor and his ability to glorify and find the meaning in the mundane events and thoughts of every day life, and thereby turn the life of an ordinary person into a drama with meaning and significance puts me in mind of John Irving. As well a…

New Yorker Fiction Review #151: "The Bog Girl" by Karen Russell

From the June 20 issue...

My loyal readers (if there are still any, which I doubt) will know I'm usually not a fan of Magical Realism, which, as you may also know, is Karen Russell's stock in trade. That said, there's nothing I love more than having my antipathy for magical realism shattered by an awesome story like "The Bog Girl."

Briefly, an Irish teenager discovers the body of a young woman who as been buried in a bog for over 2,000 years and begins to date her. What more do you need, right? If I'd read that one-line description somewhere else, and wasn't on a mission to review every New Yorker short story, I doubt I'd have read "The Bog Girl." But maybe I should start doing a George Costanza and do the opposite of everything I think I should do.

Where Russell succeeds here is in two main areas: 1.) Making us really love Cillian, the teenager who falls in love with the bog girl, and 2.) pulling the unbelievable trick making the characters…

Water Review: San Pellegrino 250ml Bottle

Damn you, tiny little bottle of San Pellegrino. So little. So cute. But what are you really good for other than to make me wish I had a full bottle of Pellegrino? 
Good as a palate cleanser after a nice double espresso, I will give it that. But little else. The suave yet chaotic burst of Pellegrino bubbliness is still there, but with each sip you feel the tragedy of being that much closer to the end of the bottle, that much faster.

This is a bottle of water made specifically for the frustrated, for the meticulous, for the measurers among us with a penchant for the dainty. This water does not love you in the wild, on a sunny porch or with the raucous laughter of friends. No...much the opposite. Whatever that may be.

Best drunk in tiny, tiny sips, while forcing oneself through an unreadable and depressing Russian novel one does not want to read but feels one should, on a cold, wet day in December that promises four months of gloom and depression...or in pairs or threes and poured over …